hosted by THE NEWSLEAF Building a Stronger Community Through Communication











Scholarship Process Timeline


Last year's









Other Links


School District Web Site


Atchison County Community Schools

(School District Facebook page)


ACCHS Alumni on Facebook

(Not affiliated with the Alumni Association)



2017 Annual Report


417 MAIN ST., PO BOX 209, EFFINGHAM, KS 66023

The ACCHS Alumni Scholarship Foundation, a Kansas Not-For-Profit Corporation, was established in 2004 for the purpose of soliciting, accepting, receiving and distributing contributions designated for a specific purpose for the benefit and support of ACCHS. Donations are exempt from federal income tax under Section 501 (c(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

One of the purposes of the Foundation is to raise funds to create and maintain a permanent endowment to provide income from which scholarships may be provided to graduates of ACCHS.

The annual meeting of the ACCHS Alumni Association Scholarship Foundation Board of Directors is held at ACCHS at 2:00 pm on the date of the ACCHS Alumni Banquet. Alumni members are invited to attend.

Currently serving on the Board of Directors are: President, Debbie Parnell, Vice President, Cindy Ladd, Secretary, Ruth Dillon, Treasurer, Steve Caplinger. Members: Jeff Martin, Martha Coder, Nancy Keith and Covell Hawk. Anyone interested in serving on the board should contact Debbie Parnell at 913-833-4781. Anyone interested in establishing a scholarship or making a donation to the Scholarship should contact any member of the Board of Directors.

The Treasury of the Foundation has, as of May 31, 2017, $88,271.44 in principal, interest and stock. This compares to $75,136.23 last year at this time. The interest and dividends are used for the awarding of scholarships. Expenses for 16-17 were $40.00.

At the meeting on June 4, 2016, the following action was taken:

Bookkeeping measures were approved as follows:  Decided to use June 1 as the date for computing scholarship earnings, and report balances for the annual meeting.  Any capital gains realized will be added pro rata to all the separate scholarship balances.

Members to the board were elected for a new two year term were: Martha Coder, Cindy Ladd and Deborah Parnell were elected to a new two year term that expires in 2018. Officers elected for the coming year are to be: Deborah Parnell, President; Cindy Ladd, Vice President; Ruth Dillon, Secretary; Steve Caplinger, Treasurer.

Donations to the Foundation since the last report:

                Class of 1951 to the Centennial Scholarship

                Members of the Jay and Tolli Courtney family donated to increase the Courtney Scholarship.

A new bequest was received from the family and friends of Patrick Conner to be used by the ACCJSH Student Ambassadors in their support of the school's efforts to fight bullying in its various forms.  

Scholarships Awarded in 2017 went to:

Jacob Chalfant- Eck, Morgan, Hinshaw, Courtney and Wood Scholarships

Madison Hetherington- Centennial Scholarship.

The Stewart Scholarship was not awarded.



The Corporation is organized and shall be operated exclusively for such charitable and educational purposes as may qualify it for exemption from the federal income tax under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 (or the corresponding provision of any   future United States Internal Revenue Law).

The object is to solicit, receive and provide resources for the benefit and support of Atchison County Community High School, Unified School District #377, provided, however, that the resources herein contemplated shall be over and above what the State of Kansas would traditionally provide the District.


             Email contact:  



Web Page Hosted by The Newsleaf  Problems with this web site contact  Last updated 4-9-18